International Safety Media Awards

The next ISMAs will be awarded at the 13th World Conference on Injury Prevention and Safety Promotion, in Bangkok Thailand, 5-7 November 2018. 

The International Safety Media Awards (ISMA) recognize high quality safety media from around the world. The ISMAs provide safety promotion and injury prevention professionals an opportunity to showcase their media initiatives.

Past winners have leveraged their ISMA successes, resulting in increased funding and worldwide recognition.

Submissions will be showcased with awards presented at the World Safety 2018 Conference, 5-7 November, 2018 in Bangkok, Thailand. At the conference, finalists enjoy networking with colleagues and learning from peers.

A jury of renowned injury prevention and media specialists consider production quality, message clarity, innovation/creativity and evaluation methods and results. Entry is free at

Submission Categories:

  • Audio
  • Print
  • Short Videos
  • Ultra Short Videos
  • Online/Web-based
  • Campaign


The first ISMAs were presented 10 years ago at Safety 2006 in Durban, South Africa. Since then, hundreds of safety promoters have been honored for their safety media by an international panel of judges.

Winners for the 2016 awards were¬†announced September 21, 2016 in Tampere, Finland at the 12th World Conference on Injury Prevention and Safety Promotion. The winners’ media can be viewed here. It was a challenging year for the judges, as the quality of entries and evaluation of the media has continued to grow. Thank you to everyone who submitted their media. We look forward to seeing the growth of state of the art injury prevention promotion through media.